Author: David Power First published: 16-01-2016 16:47 Modified: 27-09-2016 09:45 Category: 2016 News

Commemorating our many great achievements in 2015, we held our Annual Dinner and Prize giving on Friday 15th January 2016 in the Grange Golf Club, Rathfarnham. Thanks to Denis Daly for organising along with many other club members who helped out with photos, prizes, etc. We were joined by Antoinette and Michael from the Dublin Athletics Board and Athletics Ireland respectively.


After dinner, MC Owen McLoughlin guided us through proceedings, including a great review by Club President, PJ Claffey (just back from training in Cork with Rob Heffernan). The club awards are the highlight for many and it was great to see so many super achievements across road, track and cross country. All age groups have had success, at Dublin, Leinster, National and International level. Owen rounded off events with his guitar to play "the song". It got Bono's thumbs up, with Owen's cover of "One" renamed "Run".


Athlete of the Year - Stephen Gaffney for his remarkable performances in the 100m and long jump.


Male Awards

  • Cross Country - David Scanlon
  • Road - Se├ín Hehir
  • Consistent performance - Brian Furey & Louis McCarthy


Female Awards

  • Newcomer - Louise Gaffney
  • Road - Valerie Cole
  • Master- Maria Dolan
  • Senior - Lynne Hennessy


Pictures of all awards winners are in the Gallery.

2016 Captains

Congratulations to Valerie Cole and Brian Furey on the year ahead. A huge thanks to Lorraine Nolan and Paul Stephenson for their leadership in 2015.

Back to Top