There was some speedy times by Rathfarnham WSAF AC athletes at the 2019 Streets of Kilkenny 5k on Thursday 18th April. Kilkenny City Harriers run this race on a fast flat course centred around Kilkenny Medieval centre and the banks of the Nore. The course this year started and finished at the Parade in Kilkenny with commentary provided by KCH legend Brian Maher! Paul flemming was the first Rathfarnham WSAF AC athlete across the line in 6th position and first M40. He ran a SB of 15:42. David Power had a second PB of the week coming 12th in 16:06 with the steadily improving Neil Skelton also running a 17:07 PB. Great performances by the trio.


There was a great haul of medals for Rathfarnham WSAF AC at the National 10k Championships on Sunday April 14th 2019. Three of the club teams won medals on a new Phoenix Park course with the race incorporated into the Great Ireland Run. The women’s senior team of Clare Sullivan, Laura Ryan and Aisling O’Connor won the team bronze. The M35 team of Louis McCarthy, Bobby Murphy and Dave Power won team gold with Louis winning the individual M35 bronze. The team of Paul Moran, Colm Murray and Denis Daly won M50 gold. Michael Ferry won M70 silver. Congratulations to all club members who took part with some fantastic individual performances and the support from coach Adam Jones.                                                                       

Individual results were as follows:

Louis McCarthy 9th ,3rd M35 31:45

Bobby Murphy 12th 4th M35 31:57

David Power 51st M35 34:15 16th M35 PB!

Paul Moran 35:57 4th M55

Colm Murry 36:51 8th M50

Denis Daly 37:43 10th M50

Gael Hernandez 37:37

Clare Sullivan 38:13 14th,6th W35 PB!

Brian Furey 38:11 Back after injury

Shane Grehan 38:20 PB

Tom Cuddy 38:28 6th M55

Eamonn McWalter 39:45

Barry Mulvihill 39:49 PB

Laura Ryan 40:49 16th 4minute PB!!!

Seán McCreery 41:35 PB!!

Aisling O’Connor 44:02 24th

Ester Lawlor 45:34 15th F40

Susan Naughton 45:57

Michael Ferry 48:58 2nd M70

Noreen Fitzsimons 48:43

Maria Brennan 50:24

Orla Wilson 56:31



In only his first marathon Donagh Powell broke the 3 hour barrier with 2:57:02. This was a hard fought for achievement given the very hot conditions and on a cooler day we’ll see him realising his full potential and knocking large lumps off that time in future. Even marathon veteran Colm Murray was knocked back by the heat to run 3:08:45 which still put him as a very respectable  42nd M50. Congratulations to both of you producing excellent runs on a tough day at the office!