Rathfarnham WSAF AC won first place at the Michael Manning Memorial Dunshaughlin 10k on a balmy Saturday evening in a very high caliber field. Unbelieveably this was the first time we have won the team event at this, the longest running annual 10k race in the country. Well done to the team of Bobby Murphy 32:13, Mitchel Byrne 32:33, Paul Stephenson 33:41 and Paul Flemming 33:56. Ciaran Aylward ran 35:11 and Denis Daly 37:50 (PB!). Clare Sullivan was the 7th women home in a massive PB of 38:25 and Vanessa Sallier ran 43:17.

Race of the day was in the men's 800m. Cillian Doherty dominated the race winning the Dublin title in style. His time of 1.58.05 was his second fastest over the distance. Isabella Doyle raced well placing 2nd in the 200m and was just out leaned for the Dublin title. She ran 27.53 into a 3.2 wind. Isabella also placed 2nd in the long jump with 4.70m. Amy McCabe also placed 2nd in the B 200m in 28.59. We had three women running in the 3000m. Lynne Hennessy came 5th 10.41, Louise Gaffney 10th 11.04 and Catriona Dowling 12th 11.17. We also had three men in the 3000m. Jonathan Hughes 6th in the B race 9.43, Neil Skelton 6th in the C race in 10:08 and Tom Cuddy 13th in the C race 11:12. Well done everybody.

At the Irish Milers Club Le Ceile International 2018, Le Ceile AC track, Leixlip, Co. Kildare on Saturday 16th June Rathfarnham WSAF AC’s Lee Byrne was just piped for a win in the 800m. He ran 1:54.65. Cillian Doherty is a man coming into great form. He came forth in the same race in a new PB of 1:57.02. Great running by both of you.

Stephen Gaffney has been carrying a bit of an injury but it looks like he is starting to shrug it off wiith a 100m SB in Germany of 10.71s (-0.9) followed by a 200m SB of 21.62s. Then on 9th June in Salamanca, Spain he ran another 200m SB of 21:51s. All very definitely heading in the right direction. well done Stephen and good luck over the summer.