It was a dark , wet and windy morning in the Phoenix park for the 2018 National 10k Championships incorporated into the Great Ireland Run. The mud around the start area had more of a cross country than a road race feel. Adam Jones was seen doing what we thought were pretty pacey 1k intervals but, as it turns out, he was just rushing to collect the numbers for those who were late. It has been decided not be name and shame them here, but well done Adam!

The women’s race kicked off first. First over the line was the steadily returning to form Clare Sullivan in an excellent 12th position. The team finished 7th overall.

The highlight of the day was senior men’s team bronze. It was Seán Hehir first over the line for Rathfarnham WSAF AC, followed by Louis McCarthy, Eoin Reville and David Power.

Second bronze came from the Rathfarnham WSAF AC M50 team of Colm Murray, Denis Daly and Brendan Hogan.

Well done to all club participants who backed up the medal performances. The individual results are as follows:

Seán Hehir 31:02 5th

Louis McCarthy 32:36

Eoin Reville 34:44

David Power 35:48

Ciaran Aylward 36:00

Eoin McLoughlin 36:16

Peter Toomey 37:05

Colm Murray 37:07

Neil Skelton 37:14

Denis Daly 37:51(PB Whoohoo!!)

Brendan Hogan 41:06

Derek Bain 41:18

Eric Cullen 41:46

Clare Sullivan 40:20 12th

Beth Neal 44:37

Aisling O’Connor 44:04

Sue Ryan 44:13

Jennifer O’Malley 44:57

Ester Lawlor 47:43

Grainne Forde 48:22

Lian Brady 48:23

Orla Murray 48:24

Una Rice 48:57

Orla Wilson 63:49

Thanks to Shane Grehan for the photos