Author: Denis Daly First published: 05-11-2017 16:59 Modified: 07-11-2017 08:07 Category: 2017 Race Reports Archive

The storms settled to a breeze and the sun warmed things up on the morning of Sunday 29th October for the 2017 Dublin City Marathon. A row of competitors from the Gardaí lined up across the start line to honour the sudden and sad passing only two days before of our very popular Rathfarnham WSAF AC club mate Adrian Tucker.

With an entry of 20,000, it was the biggest Dublin City marathon since the event started in 1980. Embedded in the race were the many club athletes competing in the National Marathon Championships, the Leinster Marathon Championships and the Dublin Athletics Marathon Championships.

Given the fact that the club so frequently is on the National Marathon podium at senior level it was highly unusual that we didn’t have any senior competitors. This was down to a combination of rest after international appearances, injuries and life catching up with people.  Bobby Murphy was the clubs top performer on the day. He finished an excellent 22nd overall and won the National individual M35 bronze medal, individual silver in the Leinster Championships and individual silver in the Dublin Championships. The M35 Team of Bobby, Jason Reid and Ciaran Aylward won the silver medal in each of the National, Leinster and Dublin Marathon Championships.

Colm Murray won the individual Bronze M50 in the Leinster Championships and Silver M50 in the Dublin Championships. Tom Cuddy won the M55 silver medal in the Leinster Championships, M55 gold in the Dublin Championships and only narrowly missed out on the individual bronze in the national championships in a photo finish.

The M50 team of Colm Murray, Tom Cuddy and Denis Daly won the Leinster Championships Gold, Dublin Championships Gold and placed second on paper in the National Championships, but unfortunately due to a team registration omission will not receive the silver.

Jackie Kingston had a fantastic run to pick up the W50 bronze medal in the Dublin Championships. She is obviously following the great strength and conditioning advice she gives us all on Thursday nights!

Well done to Rathfarnham WSAF AC’s team of marshals who played an excellent role under the guidance of John McCabe and all the competitors were hugely appreciative of all those who came out to support.

Congratulations to everyone who competed. Individual results were as follows with some great PB’s: Robert Murphy 2:30:04, Jason Reid 2:43:47, Ciaran Aylward 2:52:45, Greg Byrne 2:53:51, Colm Murray 2:54:55, Gael Hernandez 2:58:01, Peter Toomey 2:58:21, Tom Cuddy 2:59:11, Denis Daly 3:01:21, Patrick Fitzpatrick 3:08:53 , Micheal Murphy 3:09:39, Barry Mulvihill 3:23:56, Eric Cullen 3:31:13 , Seamus Gorman 3:39:35, Jackie Kingston 3:45:44, Jenny O Malley 3:47:50, Una O'Brien 3:47:51, Lian Brady 3:53:40, Maria Brennan 3:53:55, John Tarrant 3:56:36,  Daragh Kelly 4:32:32, Aisling Tohill 4:41:55, Tomas O Connell 4:47:44


FULL AAI Results

FULL Dublin Athletics Results

Back to Top