Author: Denis Daly First published: 18-11-2018 16:12 Modified: 17-02-2019 18:35 Category: 2018 Race Reports


Weather conditions were perfect for the 39th Dublin City Marathon. Rathfarnham shirts were visible everywhere in the start area. As it is in all marathons, anticipation gives way to a mix of success and drama. There were some fantastic individual club performances and PB’s but unfortunately last minute viral infections decimated our men’s senior team putting pay to any medal chances there. There are of course a lot of other medals at stake on the day what with the National, Leinster and Dublin championships being incorporated into DCM. Rathfarnham WSAF AC featured well winning club medals as follows:

National Championships Medals:

Silver medal for the M50 team of Colm Murray, Denis Daly and Pat Fitzpatrick

Leinster Championships Medals:

Gold medal for the M50 team of Colm Murray, Denis Daly and Pat Fitzpatrick

Dublin Championships Medals:

Individual prizes were Bronze M35 for Mark Ryan, Silver M50 for Colm Murray, Bronze M50 for Denis Daly, Bronze M65 for Michael Maloney and silver M70 for Peter McDermott. There was M35 Team Silver for Mark Ryan, Jason Reid and Ciaran Aylward, W35 Team Bronze for Clare Sullivan, Jackie Sullivan and Orla McEvoy and M50 Team gold for Colm Murray, Denis Daly and Pat Fitzpatrick.

Individual gun times were as follows:

Mark Ryan M35 02:31:48

Jason Reid M35 02:46:43

Ciaran Aylward M35 02:48:26

Liam Dunne M35 02:49:35

Colm Murray M50 02:51:39

Gael Hernandez M35 02:52:15

Peter O Farrell M40 02:52:36

Louis McCarthy M35 02:56:09

Eoin Mc Loughlin M35 02:59:12

Greg Byrne M40 02:59:16

Denis Daly M50 03:03:34

Micheal Murphy M35 03:05:24

Jonathan Hughes M35 03:08:42

Archie O’Donnell M40 03:09:08

Patrick Fitzpatrick M55 03:14:32

Clare Sullivan F35 03:25:38

Eric Cullen M50 03:30:32

Jackie Kingston F50 03:34:11

Barry Mulvihill M45 03:48:14

Katie Fitzgerald SW 03:50:12

Peter McDermott M70 3:52:07

Orla Mc Evoy F35 03:54:02

Daragh Kelly M45 04:24:43

Michael Maloney M65 04:46:09

Aisling Tohill F40 05:39:55

A big congratulations to everyone who completed the marathon. DCM is growing rapidly in stature and deserves its name as the friendly marathon. It is now the 5th biggest in Europe. Be sure to get signed up for 2019 because over half the places have already been taken.

Such a big event would not be possible without the help of hundreds of volunteers. Particular thanks must be given to our own John McCabe who organised the stewarding by Rathfarnham WSAF AC members of the route between Rathgar and Miltown. Well for all the work and en route support!!

Click below for full results:






Back to Top